ZWC Insight | Prof. Arthur Yeung - Ten Suggestions for Startup in Adversity
February 14, 2020

Prof. Arthur Yeung

Senior Management Advisor, Tencent Holdings

Dean, TencentX University

President, Y-Triangle CEO Alliance

 

With the outbreak of the novel coronavirus, many startups face the challenges of business continuity and survival, both of which have become urgent issues to be studied and resolved.

Prof. Arthur Yeung, the special partner of ZWC Partners, is deeply concerned with the outbreak’s impact to society and enterprises. As a global management expert in Chinese business affairs and a leading organizational researcher who combined academic research with enterprise practice, he has since undertaken the training and consultation of many large enterprises based in China.

Armed with decades of experience in senior management education, Prof. Arthur Yeung puts forward the following ten valuable suggestions for portfolios of ZWC Partners and other external startups to seek a viable way out the current predicament plaguing our society.

 

CEO Mindset – Cautious Positiveness

Ⅰ. Prepare for the worst case scenario ensure the survival of your enterprise. Carry out scenario simulation where this epidemic would last for an extended period of time, from 1 to even 6 months, and then think about the following questions: What impact would the epidemic have on the revenue, profit and cash flow of your company?

How severe would your supply chain and logisitical processes be affected? How would you make up for the loss of the business opportunities? How would you reduce fixed costs that impact to your bottom-line? How would adapt to develop new users or gain new sources of income? How would you ensure enough cash to sustain the most difficult of times?

Ⅱ. Prepare to seize the opportunity after the crisis. Will the demand or your products or services change or return to normal after the epidemic? Will there be new types of operational or product demands? How would you accelerate the transformation of your organization and welcome the new profit outcomes brought by digital technology and automation (such as automated production, remote decentralized operation, on-line and off-line products and channels, and cooperative communication methods)? Will there be a chance to make up for the lost orders or returned demand after the crisis? What are the necessary preparations after the crisis?

Ⅲ. Opportunities to obtain cheap assets during the crisis. Opportunities like businesses with cash flow problems (a wave of bankruptcies are expected), laid off talents, or investment opportunities (such as real estate). During SARS or the 2008 financial crisis, I saw many opportunities for enterprises or individuals to invest and reap the rewards of their investments after this economic cycle.

 

Organizational Management – Accelerating “Digital Decentralized” Management

Ⅳ. For the short-term effects of this epidemic, telecommuting would be necessary for a period of time. Enterprises should take this opportunity to speed up decentralized management and strengthen internal and external communication through collaborative office software and tools. In this way, enterprises can safeguard the health of employees and promote the development of business and work. Enterprises are best advised to disabuse themselves of the Chinese habitual notion/practice that only face-to-face meetings can resolve their business affairs.

Ⅴ. In the medium and long term, the decentralized and self-driven management mode is more in line with the trends of the knowledge economy, because the best work place is where outstanding workers thrive. Collaborative office tools and digital technologies can achieve information synchronization and work collaboration among teams in different work places, cities and even countries. Telecommuting and decentralized management are already entrenched practices among high-tech enterprises in Silicon Valley in the past 20 years.

Ⅵ. The effective operation of decentralized management requires several critical success factors: Self-driven employees, Egalitarian culture (the culture of trusting employees but still holding them accountable), highly transparent information systems, and flat and authorized small team management. In other words, it is more like Netflix’s efficient organizational management, that is “Context, not control; People, not process”.

Ⅶ. The role of the team leader is to set the direction (focus and delegate the team’s short and medium-term goals and tasks), review the team’s phased progress (through on-line or off-line data), and deal with individual subordinates’ doubts in work. Since the work tasks are distributed leaders need to learn to delegate and have more trust in their subordinates. Clear goals and progress reviews are very important to avoid the loss of direction and discipline in the workplace.

 

Culture and Morale – Culture of Overcoming Difficulties Together

Ⅷ. The enterprise culture can be identified clearly in times of difficulties. Employees will remember clearly how the enterprise treats them at this time. At their moment of need, enterprises need to be more supportive to employees. At the same time, through mutual communication and information sharing, enterprises can reduce uncertainty and overcome difficulties together with employees.

Ⅸ. leaders need to predict the “crisis” and “opportunities” in the first place. Leaders should calm themselves and be mindful that luck would not resolve their problems. On one hand, leaders should encourage employees to proactively face challenges, grasp opportunities, point out the direction for the team, and inspire everyone to work harder and overcome difficulties together. On the other hand, leaders should take this opportunity to improve internal management, reduce unnecessary waste, cut down unnecessary expenses, and simplify levels and business processes.

Ⅹ. Enterprises should actively participate in social welfare activities for disaster relief, fulfill civic duties, and establish positive social images as much as possible.

众为观点 | 杨教授给成员企业的十点建议
2020年02月14日

杨国安教授

腾讯集团高级管理顾问、青腾大学教务长

中欧商学院最高教学荣誉“中欧名师奖”

杨三角企业家联盟会长

 

新“冠”疫情爆发,企业的生存和发展成为了当下严峻处境下亟待研究和解决的紧要课题。众为资本特别合伙人杨国安教授心系社会及企业,作为世界杰出华人管理大师,学术研究和企业实践相结合的探索者,一直参与众多大型企业的培训与咨询。由此,结合数十年高层管理教育经验,杨国安教授为众为资本被投企业及各外部企业在当下社会困境中如何突围总结提出了以下十点宝贵建议。

 

CEO 心态 – 极度谨慎中的积极进取

一、做好最坏的打算,确保企业活下来。情景模拟,严峻的疫情假如持续1个月、2个月、3个月甚至6个月,对企业的营收、利润和现金流的影响多大?供应链受到多大冲击?如何弥补本来业务的损失?如何降低固定成本?如何开拓新的用户或者收入?如何确保足够现金度过最艰难时刻?

二、准备抓住危机过后的机遇。疫情过后需求会改变或者反弹吗?会否有新的业态或产品需求出现?如何加速转型,拥抱数字科技和自动化带来的红利(如自动化生产、远距分散式工作、线上线下的产品和渠道、协作沟通方式)?危机后会否有机会补回本来丧失的订单或者出现报复性需求?如何做好危机后的所需准备?

三、危机中获取廉价的资产机会。包括现金流出现困难的企业(估计破产潮会陆续出现)、被裁的优秀人才、或者投资机会(如房地产)?在非典期间或者 2008 年金融危机期间,我都看到出现不少企业或个人投资的契机。

 

组织管理 – 加快“数字化的分散式”管理

四、在短期的疫情中,远距办公估计需要维持一段时间,企业借此机会加快分散式管理,通过协作办公 软件和工具(如会议系统、共享文档、工作群)强化内外沟通,在保障员工的健康同时,推进企业业务和工作的开展。企业需要摆脱中国人见面才能办事的惯性思维。

五、对中长期来说,去中心化和自我驱动的管理模式更加符合创意型和知识密集型行业趋势,因为优秀工作者在哪里,我们办公场所就在那里,再通过协同办公工具和数字化技术进行跨办公地点、跨城市、甚至跨国家团队的信息同步和工作协作。远距办公和分散式管理在硅谷高科技企业过去20年已经很流行了。

六、但分散式管理的有效运作,需要配备几个关键成功因素:自我驱动的员工、成人文化(对员工信任 但又问责的文化)、高度透明的信息系统(包括OKR、项目进度、数据、工作状态)、扁平和授权的小团队管理。换句话来说,比较像奈飞的“Context, not control; People, not process)”的高效组织管理。

七、团队领导者的角色是定方向(聚焦和分解团队的短中期目标和任务),回顾团队阶段性进度(通过 线上或线下数据),辅导个别下属在工作中的疑惑。因为工作场景分散,领导者需要更多的授权和 信任下属,明确的奋斗目标和进度回顾很重要,避免大家的迷失和松懈。

 

文化与士气 – 共渡难关的文化

八、一家企业的文化什么时候看到最清楚,就是企业面对困难的时候! 企业这个时候如何对待员工,员工会记得一清二楚的。这个时候需要对员工更多的关怀和支持,同时通过彼此沟通和信息共享,减少不确定性,一起共渡难关。

九、领导者需要自己先看到危机中的“危机”和“机遇”,从焦虑中走出来,从侥幸心理中走出来。一方面,激励员工积极面对挑战和掌握机遇,给团队一个方向感,激发大家更加拼搏,共渡难关。另外一方面,借此机会练内功,减少不必要浪费和开支,简化层级和业务流程。

十、能力所及,企业积极参与救灾的社会公益活动,实践良好公民义务,同时建立正面社会形象。