ZWC Insight|Patrick Cheung Sees 2020 as the Year for Southeast Asia. ‘It’s like China’s Internet First-Half back in the days’.
April 7, 2020

Written by Yajuan Shi|Sino Foreign Management

For 2020, we should pay attention to Southeast Asia’s venture capital space, as they are like playing the first half of the game of the Internet Economy, while China has entered into the second half.

With the turbulence caused by the US-China trade war, Southeast Asia has become a blue ocean market in the eyes of many Chinese companies. The massive demographic dividend and steadily increasing GDP of the region have drawn the attention of many Chinese manufacturers and e-commerce platforms, who have been throwing huge sums of capital to expedite their expansion into Southeast Asia.

In 2020, facing a brand new business environment and venture capital climate, for Chinese entrepreneurs who are planning to expand or have already expanded in Southeast Asia, what should they care most?

#1 You can’t export 100% of the “Chinese Experience” into Southeast Asia

For the past couple of years, it’s becoming popular for Chinese companies to expand overseas. But starting up in Southeast, even if you’re an Alibaba team, doesn’t guarantee success. The main reason for failure is due to inadequate localization.

In 2020, for startups that venture into Southeast Asia, they must innovate with localization in mind. We know a lot of Chinese companies that went to Southeast Asia, whose founders reside in China and only fly to Southeast Asia once every one or two months. This is not localization. Do outstanding Chinese entreprenuers have to determination to become locals in Southeast Asia? It’s a core weakness for some Chinese entrepreneurs.

When you want to enter Southeast Asia, firstly, you have to strategize how to use the capabilities developed and the expertise accumulated in China to complement and integrate with local teams, while in the process, localize yourself.

Secondly, you need a co-founder in Southeast Asia. Only when the Chinese and Southeast Asian founders form a joint force, can they truely form their own strategy and tactics during the project landing.

If it’s an established company that matured in China that wants to expand in Southeast Asia, then the company should be bold in using local talents – giving them meaningful equity stake and allowing them to operate independently. When it comes to business decisions in local markets, the Southeast Asian team should be encouraged to make indepent decisions so as to mobilize their enthusiasm.

#2 In 2020, the investment opportunities in Southeast Asia skew towards the consumer sector

In the consumer sector, there are huge opportunities to be exploited in both online and offline. For online consumption, the majority of investment cases concentrate on the B2C model, much like the first half of the Chinese Internet boom. However, companies that emerge in the B2C sector in Southeast Asia could be bigger than their Chinese counterparts. This is because many B2C companies in China develop independently all the way to IPO while B2C companies in Southeast Asia are highly likely to go through M&A, which naturally creates larger companies than standalone companies.

In terms of consumer e-commerce in Southeast Asia, there is no lack of growth potential or capital, but they do lack “know-how”. Companies don’t know how to work with local enterprises and find a suitable management system.

Of course, skepticism exists – can current infrastructure in Southeast Asia withstand the pressure brought upon by the rapid rise of e-commerce and investment capital deployment? The leading e-commerce players in Southeast Asia are very willing to learn from China’s experience. But as for the supporting infrastructure for e-commerce such as logistics, warehouse management and various value-added services for merchants, they hope the ecosystem or market can build it for them.
2020 Management Wind Vane:

Q: What challenges will the Southeast Asian venture capital circle face in 2020?

Patrick Cheung: Up to 2019, I’ve not seen the formation of the “exit ecosystem” in Southeast Asia. I believe that starting from 2020, and continuing into the next two or three years, the venture capital circle in Southeast Asia will face the problem of exit, and it will be a big challenge for the industry. But IPOs could be a viable exit channel for investment.

众为观点|众为资本张永汉:2020要关注东南亚创投圈,它们就像中国的“互联网上半场”
2020年04月07日

前瞻者:张永汉(众为资本管理合伙人)
采写:中外管理杂志记者 史亚娟 责任编辑:李靖

近期,众为资本创始管理合伙人受访中外管理杂志2020年前瞻者系列专题专访,对于东南亚市场在未来面对崭新的商业环境和创投生态作出了前瞻的预测观点分享。以下为原文内容:

随着中美贸易战带来的震荡,东南亚市场俨然成为很多中国企业眼中的新兴蓝海市场,以其巨大的人口红利和稳步增长的GDP吸引着中国制造企业、电商平台的注意力,纷纷斥巨资加速出海东南亚。

2020年,面对崭新的商业环境和创投生态,已经出海或即将出海东南亚的中国企业家,最需要注意的是什么?

不能再带着100%的“中国经验”进入东南亚了

过去几年很流行中国企业出海,但到东南亚创业,即便你是从阿里走出来的团队,也未必能够成功。主要原因在于本土化没有做好。

2020年,对于来东南亚创业的初创公司而言,要更多结合本土化进行创新——我们了解的很多去东南亚的中国企业,创始人常年在中国,一两个月才飞东南亚一次,这算不上是真正的本地化。来自中国的优秀企业家,真的有决心成为东南亚当地人吗?这是中国企业家一个很大的弱点。

2020年,当你想进入东南亚市场时,首先,要衡量如何利用在中国锻炼出的能力,以及如何利用在中国总结出的专业知识,与当地团队互补融合,让自己更加本土化。

其次,还要寻找一位在东南亚的联合创始人,只有中国、东南亚本地两股力量形成合力,才能在项目落地过程中真正形成自己的战略、战术。

如果是在中国成长起来的成熟企业来东南亚,则应大胆启用东南亚本地人才,给予当地管理人员一定比例的股权,让他们成为一个独立的本土化团队,比如:“某某公司(东南亚)”的形式。涉及当地的一些商业决策,要鼓励东南亚团队自主决策,调动他们自主经营的积极性。

2020年东南亚的投资机会偏向于消费领域

2020年,东南亚投资机会还是偏消费领域,不管线上,还是线下,都将大有机会。其中线上消费多为B2C模式,有点像中国的互联网上半场,但能培育的公司体量通常比中国同类公司大。因为,中国B2C赛道上的众多公司,多为独立发展、独立做到上市,东南亚B2C以后将大概率以并购方式退出,体量自然比单打独斗的公司大。

东南亚电商消费领域,不仅有电商产业发展的空间,也不缺少资本,唯独缺少“know how"(知道怎么做,也直译为技术诀窍),不清楚具体如何也当地企业结合,形成一套适合自己的经营之道。

当然也有担忧的声音存在——东南亚目前的设施建设能否承载得起电商或快速投资发展带来的压力?但东南亚头部电商公司很愿意学习中国经验,但对于重要的电商配套,比如:物流、货仓管理等线下基础设施,以及给商家运营的各种增值服务,它们希望由整个生态、整个市场去搭建。

2020管理风向标:

Q:东南亚创投圈在2020年将会有哪些挑战?

张永汉:到2019年为止,我还没有看到南亚投资领域中“退出生态”的形成,相信从2020年开始,包括未来两三年内,东南亚创投圈将面临退出的问题,行业将迎来一个大挑战。但IPO将是可行的投资退出渠道。