ZWC Insight|Yicai's Exclusive Interview with Patrick Cheung, managing partner of ZWC Partners: “Using One Passion to Kindle Another” and Seeking Entrepreneurs with “Fire in their Heart”
September 10, 2020

Written by Huang Ting from Lujiazui Magazine

Economist He Fan commented on new technology in his book “Variable.” “The market can inspire research, and the dream of research will always illuminate the market.…… The key to the combination of market and research, however, is how to use one passion to kindle another.”

Patrick is a serial entrepreneur. In the past 20 years, he successfully founded and sold two startups. When it came to being an entrepreneur for the third time, he chose to be an investor and founded ZWC Partners (“ZWC”). Why did he make such a choice? Patrick’s answer was “passion”. He wanted to inspire more people with his entrepreneurial passion and create greater value.

If we look at ZWC’s investment history, Patrick’s passion for innovative technology and brands is obvious. Five years since its inception, ZWC has become known as a “Unicorn Hunter”. It invested in unicorns like 4Paradigm, Xiaodian, Boss Zhipin, and Yitu Technology, and also jointly invested in unicorns like Souche, VIPKID, Mobike, JD Digits, Xiaopeng, Wattpad, 58 Finance, Rootcloud, etc. ZWC has won titles such as”Top 20 Annual Venture Capital Institutions of the Year 2020″ and “Top 5 Annual New Infrastructure Investment Institutions of the Year 2020” on Yicai Equity Value Investment List.

During the interview by Lujiazui magazine, Patrick was in Hong Kong, which was affected by COVID-19. Still, his enthusiasm for investment was not affected by the environment. He told the magazine that what mattered most in technological investment was optimism. One had to have faith that there was no winter that we cannot live through.

“Inside the entrepreneur’s heart, there must be fire”. The four dimensions when it comes to investing in a technological entrepreneur team

The English playwright Bernard Shaw once said, “The unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.”

Investors who have received formal investment training are known for their reason and rigor. Every investment is made based on a corresponding model. There is no room for mistakes. But Patrick himself is a serial entrepreneur. His personal experience has made him more aware of the energy and drive that an entrepreneur’s dreams and passions can bring. He believes that apart from reason and rigor, there must be a fire in the entrepreneur’s heart. Only with this kind of passion, can one build a great company.

Many investors avoid investing in scientists-turned entrepreneurs, because most scientists are highbrow. It is hard for them to go from flying kites in the sky to riding speedy unicorns on land But Patrick believes that in this process, the passionate entrepreneurs are driven to learn and hone their business skills.

The founder of 4Paradigm, Dai Wenyuan, is a typical scientist-turned-entrepreneur. He is a young AI scientist in China. He led his team to win the gold medal in the ACM-ICPC World Finals when he was still in college, and was also the youngest person to hold the title of Baidu senior scientist and become the senior scientist for Huawei Noah’s Ark Lab.

Three years ago when Patrick first met Dai Wenyuan, Patrick was impressed not only by his entrepreneurial ideals and excellent academic background, but also his passion.

“After several conversations with him, I could sense that there was a fire inside him and that he wanted to do something big, to use artificial intelligence to really change the world.” Patrick said. It was exactly this passion that sets 4Paradigm apart from the average scientist-run companies, he said. Everything went quite smoothly in the management and commercialization process, as Dai Wenyuan, driven by his passion, quickly learned how to be the operator, manager and entrepreneur.

In April this year, 4Paradigm announced the completion of its Series C+ financing. The Series C round of financing amounted to $230 million, with the post-money valuation standing at about $2 billion, making it a proper AI “unicorn”.

In an investment process, the most uncertain elements are the people. Patrick says you have to observe an entrepreneur from different dimensions. Among the four most important dimensions: 1) is the entrepreneur creating the company with a speculative mindset; 2) the entrepreneur’s deep understanding and insights of this particular field; 3) entrepreneur’s learning curve 4) if he has an “altruistic” spirit.

Why should we focus on the four dimensions? Patrick says ZWC advocates that technology investment should ideally be made with the intention of creating “innovative value”. In the future, the biggest opportunity in China’s technology sector lies in the technology enabled industry sectors, transform industries through technology and intelligent. In this process, being good at telling stories is not enough. The most important thing is to be able to ensure the introduction and success of the product. speculation may inflate current valuations, but it will be hard to succeed in the long term.

As early as in 2002, Patrick tried to change the outdoor advertising industry with the Internet.

Although he later successfully sold the company, he concluded that his original mindset of wanting to “disrupt” the industry had been inappropriate. “The mindset of the entrepreneur is important. Do not insist on disrupting the industry. You have to embrace it first.” Patrick said that it was also important that the entrepreneur had a deep understanding of the field.

At the same time, excellent entrepreneurs need to be quick learners. Patrick believes that successful Internet companies going forward should have comprehensive abilities, such as the ability to develop a product, to strategize and to operate.

As to the quality most needed by tech entrepreneurs, Patrick felt it should be “altruism”. “Tech entrepreneurs must hope that their products can truly help users and promote social progress. This is the original aspiration that they should remain true to.” Patrick said that during the process of starting up a company, the CEO must be willing to share his interests with the team and partners. Only in this way could a company grow into a great enterprise.

The race of Internet investment has entered the second half, while more opportunities lie in the industry

ZWC has always paid close attention to three fields, namely the consumer internet, the technology enabled industry sector, and enterprises going overseas. ZWC’s investment in the technology enabled industry sector alone accounts for 40% of its total investment.

“A few years ago, China’s Internet industry entered the second half of the race, the era of the technology enabled industry sectors.” Patrick said that in China Internet penetration is high. The To-C consumer Internet model has been fully developed in the past 20 years. But the development cycle for technology enabled industry sectors has just started. After 20 years of engaging with the Internet, the industries have finally started to accept the concept of technology empowering the industry.

In 2002 when Patrick came to Shanghai to establish his outdoor advertising platform, his idea was to use the Internet and technology to empower and change the outdoor advertising industry. In retrospect, he now realizes that the difficulties encountered at that time were not because of his idea, but the weak foundation. The era of technology enabled industry sector had not yet arrived by then. Patrick chose to embrace the industry. He decided to learn how to build traditional offline model and combine it with the Internet to make the business work.

Patrick pointed out that industries now competes in terms of efficiency, and AI is the way to help the industry improve its efficiency. As the technology matures and the demands increase, the combination of the two factors led ZWC to make investments into the technology enabled industry sectors in its early years.

With respect to specific investments, Patrick says first you have to identify the industries with the most powerful innovation drivers. One driver comes from the need for breakthrough innovation to improve efficiency, like technology enabled industry sectors; another comes from the need for technology breakthroughs in the field of science and technology.

“Under the influence of these two drivers, regardless of whether the need is coming from the state level or inside the industry, it will require the industry to upgrade and iterate, and this creates investment opportunities.” said Patrick.

Following this investment logic, ZWC not only invested in domestic substitutes for foreign technologies and big data technology companies, but also in a series of innovative companies in traditional industries such as automotive, real estate, healthcare, retail and others.

In the future, the competition in the investment industry is not just a competition of capital

Unlike ordinary venture capital institutions, when ZWC was founded in 2015, its investors were carefully selected. Materials show that ZWC’s investors include FOF, family offices, TMT giants, and successful entrepreneurs.

“We have been consciously selecting our fund’s LPs from day one, and our goal is that the LPs bring not only capital, but also the resources to empower our portfolio companies.” Patrick said that ZWC’s ideal is to be more like a “Founder’s Fund”, to help and empower a new generation of entrepreneurs together with outstanding and successful domestic entrepreneurs.

Patrick has learnt from his experience that the future competition in the investment industry is not just the competition for capital. In the second half of the Internet race, “burning money” is no longer the norm. Entrepreneurs need investors who can provide industry resources, help them build the brand and manage sales.

Despite COVID-19, ZWC did not stop its investments. Patrick believes that as a value investor, one should ignore short term fluctuations and look at investment with a long-term perspective.

Last year, when ZWC invested in Boss Zhipin, Patrick considered industry cycles and believed that the recruitment industry was going through tough season because of the macro environment and economic situation. However, he was impressed by the confidence of Zhao Peng, Founder of Boss Zhipin. Zhao Peng said, “Right now we may be experiencing the winter, but we are still moving forward in the winter. We have the same ideals, so we can walk hand-in-hand. I believe that spring will definitely come after the winter.”

“We have confidence in China in the long run. So winter is not so terrible anymore. Good enterprises can still grab market share in the winter.” Patrick said that from the perspective of innovative value investment, ZWC studied companies that could create real value. Such companies can survive a harsh winter because they can enhance the efficiency in an industry, helping companies’ lower cost and creating value for the society.

众为观点|《第一财经》专访众为资本张永汉:“用一种激情去点燃另外一种激情”,要寻找“内心有团火”的创业者
2020年09月10日

作者:第一财经陆家嘴杂志 黄婷

经济学家何帆在《变量》一书中提到新技术的时候写道:“市场能够激发科研,而科研的梦想会一直照亮市场。……市场和科研的结合,关键在于,如何用一种激情去点燃另外一种激情。”

张永汉是一位连续创业者,在过去的20年时间里,他一手创立了两家企业并成功出售,在第三次创业的时候,他选择了做一名投资人,成立了众为资本。为什么做出这一选择?张永汉的答案便是“激情”,他想通过投资用自己当初创业的激情去点燃更多的人,创造更大的价值。

从众为资本交出的成绩单中,我们也可以感受到张永汉对创新科技和品牌的热情。成立5年来,众为资本已经是名副其实的“独角兽猎手”,挖掘了第四范式、小电科技、大搜车等独角兽项目,同时也是Boss直聘、VIPKID、依图科技、摩拜单车、京东数科、小鹏汽车、Wattpad、58金融、树根互联等“独角兽”的联合投资机构,并获得了第一财经股权价值投资榜“2020年度创业投资机构Top20”以及“2020年度新基建投资机构Top5”的称号

在接受《陆家嘴》记者专访的时候,张永汉还处于疫情影响下的香港,但他的投资热情却丝毫没有受到环境和形势的影响,他对记者说,科技投资最重要的就是乐观精神,要相信没有一个冬天不可跨越。

“创业者心中要有一团火”,投资科技创业团队的四个维度

英国剧作家萧伯纳说:“非理性的人坚持让世界适应自己,所有的进步都来自非理性的人。”

科班出身的投资人都以理性、严谨著称,他们的每一笔投资都对应着一个严丝合缝的数学模型,不容出错。但张永汉自己就是一位连续创业者,创业的经历让他对创业者的梦想和激情带来的无限动力有着更直接的认识,他认为,在严谨和理性之外,科技领域创业者心中还必须要有一团火,在这种激情之下才能诞生出伟大的企业。

不少投资人对科学家创业者往往望而却步,因为科学家大多是阳春白雪,很难从天上风筝落地为奔跑的独角兽。但张永汉认为,有激情的创业者则能够在这个过程中产生强大的动力去学习、打磨自己的商业能力。

第四范式的创始人戴文渊就是一位典型的科学家创业者,他是国内人工智能领域的年轻科学家,上大学的时候就曾经带领团队获得ACM国际大学生程序设计竞赛世界冠军,也是曾经最年轻的百度高级科学家、华为诺亚方舟实验室主任科学家。

三年前第一次见到戴文渊的时候,张永汉除了认可他的创业理念和过硬的学术背景之外,更打动他的就是戴文渊的创业激情。

“多次交流下来,我能感受到他内心是有一团火的,他想要做的是一件很大的事情,想通过人工智能去真正改变世界。”张永汉说,恰恰是这份激情,让第四范式不同于一般的科学家企业,在管理、商业落地的过程中都相当顺利,这都源于戴文渊在创业热情之下能够快速学习成长一名经营者、管理者和企业家。

今年四月份,第四范式宣布完成C+轮融资,C轮总计融资金额达2.3亿美元,投后估值约20亿美元,是妥妥的AI“独角兽”。

在投资中,人是最难判断也最不确定的因素,张永汉也表示考察创业者需要多维度的观察,但当中他认为最重要的有四方面,第一,是否抱着投机的心态去创业;第二,创业者对创业领域的思考;第三,是否有很强的学习能力;第四,是否有“利他”的领导力。

为什么会重点考察这四个维度,张永汉指出,众为资本提倡在科技领域要用“创新价值投资”的理念去投资,未来中国科技领域最大的机会在于产业互联网,即用科技赋能产业,在这个过程中,仅仅会讲故事是不行的,最重要的是要能够做到产品的落地,纯粹投机可能会短暂把估值炒高,但长期是很难成功的。

张永汉在2002年创业的时候就尝试用互联网改变户外广告行业,虽然公司后来成功卖出,但他后来总结认为,自己当初一心想要“颠覆”行业的心态其实并不妥当。“创业者的心态很重要,不要总想着去颠覆产业,要先去拥抱它。”张永汉说,创业者能否对所在领域有着深层的认识和思考,也是相当重要的。

同时,优秀的创业者也需要有很强的学习能力。张永汉认为,互联网下半场的成功企业必须是具备综合性能力的企业,包括产品力、战略能力、运营能力等等。

至于科技创业者最需要的品质,张永汉认为应该是“利他精神”。“科技创业者应该希望做出的产品是能够真正帮助用户、有益社会进步的,这是不能忘记的创业初心。”张永汉说,同时,在创业的过程中,CEO要非常愿意跟团队、合作伙伴去分享自己的利益,这样的企业才具备成长为伟大公司的特质。

互联网投资进入下半场,更大机会在产业当中

众为资本长期关注三大赛道,分别是消费互联网、产业互联网和出海,其中,产业互联网领域的投资就占了众为资本全部投资比重的40%左右。

“从几年前开始,中国就已经进入了互联网的下半场,或者说进入了产业互联网的周期。”张永汉说,国内互联网的普及程度很高,to C的消费互联网模式在过去20年已经充分发展了,而对于产业而言,产业互联网的发展周期才刚刚到来,经过20年的互联网熏陶,产业也终于开始接受要用科技去赋能产业。

2002年张永汉到上海创立户外广告平台的时候,创业的想法就是想借助互联网及科技赋能改变户外广告行业,如今回过头来,他发现,当时创业遇到的种种困难并不是因为这个想法不对,而是基础非常薄弱,那时候产业互联网的时代还没有到来。而张永汉选择拥抱产业,学习建立传统线下执行力,结合互联网思维,把这个事业做起来。

同时,在市场方面,张永汉指出,现在产业内部的竞争已经是效率的竞争,而人工智能就是能够真正帮助产业提升效率的途径。技术成熟、需求增加,两方面的叠加让众为资本早早就对产业互联网这一赛道进行了布局。

在具体投资当中,张永汉表示,首先找到哪些行业最具备创新的驱动力,一种是必须通过突围创新来提升效率,如工业互联网;另一种则是科技领域自主研发技术的需求。

“在这两种驱动力之下,无论是来自国家层面的需求,还是行业内部的需求,都会要求产业进行升级迭代,这就带来了产业互联网的投资机会。”张永汉说。

在这两大逻辑下,众为资本不仅投资科技国产替代、大数据等方面的科技企业,同时也投资了汽车产业、房地产行业、医疗行业和零售等一系列传统行业当中的创新企业,包括新能源汽车领域的小鹏汽车、充电桩领域的依威能源(EV POWER)等等。

未来投资行业不仅仅是资本的竞争

不同于一般的创投机构,众为资本在2015年成立的时候,就在基金发起人做起了文章,资料显示,众为资本基金发起人构成除FOF、家族办公室、TMT行业巨头企业外,还包括不少成功创业者及领袖企业家。

“我们从成立第一天就有意识地去选择我们基金的LP,我们的目的就是,希望LP带来的不仅是资本,还能够在资源上赋能我们的被投企业。”张永汉说,众为资本想做的更像是“创始人基金”,联合国内优秀的成功企业家,去帮助、赋能新一代的创业者。

张永汉从自己的创业经历中深深认识到,未来投资行业不仅仅是资本的竞争,在互联网的下半场,“烧钱”不再是常态,创业者更需要的是能够提供产业资源,帮助他们打造品牌、管理销售的投资人。

在新冠肺炎疫情之下,众为资本也并没有停下投资的节奏,张永汉认为,作为一名价值投资者,应该忽略短周期的波动,而更长远地从长期的角度去看待投资。

去年,众为资本在投资Boss直聘的时候,张永汉就曾经思考过周期的问题,认为当时从宏观环境、经济形势来看,招聘行业正于行业的冬天。但Boss直聘的创始人赵鹏的信心打动了他,赵鹏说的恰恰是,“当下可能正经历冬天,而我们在冬天依然前行,如果有相同的理念可以携手,相信冬天之后春天一定会到来”。

“我们长期看好中国,既然是这样,那么冬天就并不可怕,真正好的企业也是有能力在寒冬中抢占市场的。”张永汉说,从创新价值投资的角度,众为资本研究的都是能够真正创造效益的企业,这样的企业即使在冬天也能够顽强生存下来,因为,这些公司本质上能够解决行业效率问题,降低企业成本还能对社会产生价值。