ZWC Insight|ZWC Partner Patrick Cheung: Good Projects Can Sustain and Survive All Periods, Favorable or Unfavorable
May 19, 2020

Yang Qiao From iyiou.com

For a technology or digital transformation of an industry, an in-depth understanding of the industry is needed.

“One thing is noted from what I’ve learned from my twice startup experience in consumer Internet and industrial Internet: For a technology or digital transformation of an industry, an in-depth understanding about the industry is needed.”

It is the greatest enlightenment to Patrick Cheung from ZWC Partners, who has opted for a career shift from entrepreneur to investor.

In 2015, Founding & Managing Partner Patrick Cheung founded ZWC Partners (ZWC). As a dual-currency fund platform of Zhongyiwei Business Management Consulting (Shanghai) Co., Ltd., ZWC covers early, early growth and growth-stage investments, focusing on consumer technology, industrial Internet and China Southeast Asia cross border opportunities among other areas.

From business startups to equity investment
Investment philosophy has taken shape step by step

Before working on equity investment, Patrick founded two startups.

The first startup was a photo printing company. In the 1990s, two corporations monopolized the photo printing market: Kodak and Fujifilm. Kodak was the dominant player which occupied 2/3 of global film printing market with the highest market cap of US$31 billion. In year 2000, Fujifilm occupied 70% of market share in Japan with the operating revenue of JPY1.44 trillion.

However, start from year 2000, as the new digital technology swept the film printing market, it caused shocks in whole industry. The global film printing market declined by 20-30% year over year. Within a decade only, total demand for film plummeted to 1/10 of its historical value.

Kodak was worried about digital imaging encroaching on the film printing market and grabbing the company’s profit while maintained its view that consumers would prefer keeping memories by printing photos. In slow response to digital imaging technology, Kodak was reluctant to leave its comfort zone, leading to its application for bankruptcy eventually.

Meanwhile, it became evident that digital imaging was prevailing. In the wake of technical breakthrough and price decline, market was reshuffled.

In earlier 1999, Patrick founded URPhoto in Hong Kong, which was specialized in three businesses: digital photo storage, digital photo sharing and digital color photo printing.

“At that time, the level of digitalization in the market was not high and there remained requirements for photo storage as many preferred memories to be kept by printed photos.” Targeting such requirements, Patrick took the initiative to develop and combine URPhoto’s online color print with offline digital color print shops to increase efficiency and photo print quality at lower cost.

Besides, URPhoto also set up more than 30 digital color print shops in Hong Kong collaborated with Fujifilm. In earlier 2003, URPhoto was sold to a listed company – China-Hongkong Photo Products Holdings Limited (agency of Fujifilm in Hong Kong and Mainland China).

The second startup was an advertising company. And it was the startup experience that directly contributed to Patrick’s career shift towards investor.

In 2002, Patrick went to Shanghai to start advertising business. “Advertising bears a direct relation to consumption and outdoor advertising was an very fragmented industry, indicating huge potential of market consolidation.”

He founded Chuanzhi Outdoor Media Group based on technologies and databases, Chuanzhi connects between market and corresponding service providers to enhance information efficiency in the industry. Moreover, Chuanzhi also rendered professional technology-based value-added services to advertising customers.
Thereafter, Chuanzhi evolved into the then biggest outdoor brand media network service provider nationwide, covering over 300 first-third tier cities. At the end of 2007, Chuanzhi was successfully merged with Focus Media Group.

Patrick told Iyiou that he benefited greatly from the experiences of two startups, especially for investment in industrial Internet in particular.

“I accumulated valuable industry resources and took great inspiration from my mentors. To invest is to help other companies as a mentor, which is of great significance. Equity investment not merely provides funding, it empowers companies by providing support such as businesses and resources, etc.”

Reflecting on the transformation from startup to investment, Patrick established an “Altruism” spirit as an investment philosophy of ZWC. From where investors are standing, excellent entrepreneurs should be influential and capable of drawing and integrating external resources. In this respect, ZWC is specialized in enabling startups to create value by helping them analyze and integrate resources.

Pandemic is a harsh test

The Year 2019 saw a great depression in venture capital investment. The industry was supposed to recover in 2020. But the unexpected “black swan” COVID-19 disillusioned all hopes for the year and added uncertainty.
A tremendous amount of change happened to the industry: many institutional investors shifted priority of investment from early-stage investments to later stage investments, emphasizing post-investment asset management rather than investment with higher bar on number of deals and investment amount. From business models to technology-driven, core technologies is the key, including semiconductor, new infrastructure, 5G, industrial Internet, etc.

The pandemic is a harsh test. Players need to figure out a way to pull through the crisis safe and sound.
“In a broad sense, the pandemic is a survival-of-the-fittest test. At the moment, investors are tested whether their portfolio are successful, whether their portfolio can survive the tough period. If the portfolio companies fail to sustain, their investors will be affected accordingly. In a word, only when the tide goes out, you find out who’s been swimming naked,” said Patrick.

“Institutional investors will see business models with better logic and wonder whether cash burning model can drive long-term growth. On the other hand, the crisis will stimulate the rise of some sectors in new economy, such as online and digitalization, to name a few,” concluded Patrick.

For startups, cash is king. A small portion of companies that maintained long-term stable growth were struck by tight cash flow in the short term. In this situation, investors should lend a hand to such companies financially. “Deal judgement should not be swayed by short-term sentiment,” said Patrick.
The truth is that some leading institutional investors did do bottom fishing during market downturn. For example, KE Holdings Inc. was funded US$2.4 billion in Series D financing and NIO was funded CNY14.5 billion in strategic financing.

ZWC also acted as the lead-investor in the Series B financing for KTU56, an industrial Internet company at the end of this April. Targeting pain points in logistics operation, KTU56 is specialized in addressing relevant problems for small- and medium-sized enterprises through technology and model innovation.

Patrick affirmed the rise of a leading player in the present small, fragmented, and inefficient less-than-truckload freight market in the coming future. He spoke highly of KTU56’s team building capability, altruism, learning ability, view of landscape, and toughness, etc. “KTU56’s Founder Liu Chenhuan understands technology and TMT with rich experience in the less-than-truckload freight market. It is indeed a typical case of industrial Internet company reshaping traditional industries by technology.”

Good companies can sustain and survive all periods, favorable or unfavorable. In nature, these companies can enhance efficiency in the industry and reduce costs of relevant enterprises while creating social value. It is also a crucial criterion ZWC uses in vetting projects.

Whether a tech firm can become influential in its own field is not merely based on the industry. More importantly, the tech firm should deliver transformation to the industry and create value for the industry.
Google, for instance, has successfully reinforced its leading position despite every periodic downturn. ZWC believes that judgement of whether the underlying model of a company can change the industrial landscape, create value and enhance efficiency is crucial in “value investment”.

Invest with sense
At any moment

ZWC has followed consumer technology, industrial Internet, and China and Southeast Asia cross border opportunities for a long time. Patrick shed light on the logic behind ZWC’s view towards the three fields to Iyiou.

Despite the pandemic, consumption remained an important growth engine to economy and policy support was given to consumption in all respects at the state level. For example, consumption coupons were given out nationwide to drive a recovery in consumption. In industrial Internet sector, COVID brings the demand for digital transformations of 2B enterprises. For cross-border companies, ZWC had set up local team in Singapore and Indonesia in earlier days to help these companies to connect local resources and create value.

In technology enabled consumer, industrial Internet and cross-border opportunities, successful companies share something in common, which involves capabilities in three aspects, according to Patrick, (1) product-driven capabilities; (2) operation-driven capabilities, including whether founding teams can build lean operation models, with profitability and organizational capability; (3) culture-driven capabilities, for development of corporate culture is conducive to building stronger internal execution power.

In Year 2020, ZWC will continue to follow projects in the three fields. “This year we will take an investment strategy of spending 70% on new deals and 30% on follow-on investment in existing portfolio.”

众为观点|众为资本合伙人张永汉:周期并不能阻挡好标的
2020年05月19日

想用技术或者互联网颠覆一个产业,需要走进产业,深度了解产业。

“消费互联网及产业互联网的两次创业经历,自己当时学到的最重要一点是,你要想用技术或者互联网颠覆一个产业,需要走进产业,深度了解产业。”

从创业者转型为投资人,这是众为资本合伙人张永汉感悟最深的一点。

2015年,身为创始管理合伙人的张永汉创办了众为资本。作为众亦为企业管理咨询(上海)有限公司旗下的双币基金平台,众为资本覆盖了中早期及成长期的投资,聚焦消费科技、产业互联网、出海等领域。

从创业到投资
投资理念的逐步成型

张永汉在进入投资领域之前,曾有过两段创业经验。

第一次创业是在冲印领域。90年代,冲印市场上存在着两大巨头:柯达和富士。柯达是胶片时代毫无争议的霸主,一度占据全球2/3的胶卷市场,市值高峰到达过310亿美元;2000年富士在日本市场份额达到70%,营业收入斩获1.44万亿日元。

自2000年起,新数码技术横扫胶卷市场,引发行业震荡。世界彩色胶片市场每年以20-30%的速度下滑,仅10年时间,胶片的总需求量就跌至原来的1/10。

柯达一方面担心数码影像蚕食胶片市场,冲击公司巨额利润,一方面认为打印照片是人们保存记忆的首选手段。柯达对数码影像技术迟钝,不愿走出安乐窝,导致后来申请破产。

此时,数码影像已经明显成为大势所趋,技术上的突破、价格的下降,都为市场带来了新的转机。

张永汉于1999年初在香港创立了URPhoto,主营数码照片储存、数码照片分享和数码照片彩扩三项业务。

“当时市场上数字化程度不高,大家对照片的储存还有强烈的需求,希望通过打印的方式保留照片。”张永汉看到了市场所需,积极开拓URPhoto的线上彩扩,与线下数码彩扩打印店相结合,降低成本,提升效率,将照片打印精度提升。

URPhoto还与富士设备合作,在香港扩展了30多家数码彩扩照片店。2003年初,URPhoto出售给上市公司中港照相集团(富士胶卷香港及中国大陆总代理)。

第二次创业是在广告行业。这次创业的经历,则直接促成了张永汉向投资人转型。

2002年,张永汉来到上海做广告行业。“广告与消费直接相关,户外广告同时也是一个非常零散的行业,资源整合空间非常巨大。”

当时他创立的传智户外传媒集团,通过科技与数据库的搭建,将零散的供应商与市场整合,提升了产业的信息效率;还通过附加的增值服务,利用技术手段为广告客户提供专业的服务。

不久,传智户外发展为当时最大的全国性户外大牌媒体网络服务商,覆盖超过300个一、二、三线城市。2007年底,与分众传媒集团成功合并。

张永汉对亿欧表示,两次创业的经历对自己后期做投资,尤其是产业互联网领域,带来了很大的帮助。

“创业中积累了大量的行业资源,导师的帮助也给了我很大的触动。做投资向导师一样去帮助其他企业,是很有意义的事情。资本不止是提供资金,更多的是给企业赋能,提供业务、资源等方面的帮助。”

从创业到投资的感悟,也形成了众为资本所坚持的投资理念“利他哲学”。从投资的角度,优秀的创业者需要具备影响力,能够吸引并整合外部资源。而众为资本所能提供的,正是帮助创业企业分析、整合外部资源,赋能企业、创造价值。

疫情是一场大考

2019年,创投行业迎来寒冬。本以为2020年将是春天,不料疫情黑天鹅打乱了周期,不确定性也被增加。

投资界发生了转变:不少早期投资机构向中后期项目偏移;从重投资到重投后管理,新项目的投资数量和质量都被严格把控;从商业模式到技术驱动,硬科技成为新的关键词,半导体、新基建、5G、产业互联网成为硬科技关键……

疫情是一场大考,考验过去火热赛道上的玩家,是否能够安全度过疫情期。

“疫情总体起到一个汰弱留强的作用。现阶段更考验投资人以往项目的成功与否,项目本质上能否渡过周期,活下来。有问题的企业相对应地把投资人也拖下水,简而言之,潮退了,才能看出谁在裸泳。”张永汉说。

“投资机构会更加理性地看待企业的商业模式,思考烧钱模式是否能够带动企业长久发展。同时,危机也会刺激一波线上化、数字化等新经济行业的发展。”张永汉总结道。

对创业企业而言,现金流才是王道。不乏有一小部分长期发展稳定的企业,因短期现金流问题受到冲击。张永汉认为,此时投资者更应敢于出手,提供资金支持,“不应该被短期的情绪影响长期的判断。”

市场低迷期间,不乏一些头部机构出手抄底项目。例如,贝壳找房D+轮融资24亿美元、蔚来汽车战略融资145亿元人民币等。

众为资本也在4月底领投了产业互联网公司快运兔的B轮融资。快兔物流主要运用技术创新和模式创新解决中小企业物流运作的痛点问题。

张永汉表示,大票零担市场如今处于小散乱差的局面,未来一定会出现一个领军企业。快运兔团队组织能力是众为看重的一点,企业也有较强的利他精神、学习能力、格局观、韧性等特性。“快运兔创始人刘晨欢懂技术、懂互联网,同时也对大票零担市场有着充足的行业经验。是科技改造传统行业的产业互联网企业的典型案例。”

好的标的无论是否处于周期性中,都具有抗周期性能力。这些公司本质上能够解决行业效率问题,降低企业成本还能对社会产生价值。这也是众为在考察其他投资项目的重要维度。

科技创新企业是否能在自己领域成为一个伟大的企业不只是由他所在的行业领域来决定,更重要的逻辑判断是他是否对行业有根本性变革, 创造产业价值。

正如谷歌这样的公司,每次周期性的经济下行,反而更加強他们的领导地位。众为认为更理性的判断一个企业的底层模式能否真正改变行业格局、创造价值、提升效率才是至关重要,也是 “创新价值投资”的本质。

任何时候
理性看待投资

众为资本长期关注消费科技、产业互联网、出海等领域,张永汉向亿欧阐释了持续看好这三个领域的逻辑。

在消费领域,尽管受到疫情冲击,消费仍是重要的发展引擎,国家政策方面也全力推动消费行业的发展,各地发放消费券促进消费回暖就是一个例子;

在产业互联网领域,疫情推动了2B端产业互联网企业的需求,改变了这些企业的线上化、数字化观念;

在出海领域,众为资本早期在新加坡、印尼、东南亚等地区成立了海外团队,帮助出海企业在当地对接资源,创造价值。

但不管是消费科技,还是产业互联网及出海领域,成功项目和企业也存在着共性。张永汉认为主要有三点:第一,产品驱动的能力;第二,营运驱动的能力。包括创业团队的精细化运营模式、较强的盈利能力、组织能力等;第三,文化驱动的能力。企业文化的培养有助于打造内部更强的执行力。

2020年,众为将继续关注以上三大领域的项目。“今年投资策略上,我们更希望70%投资聚焦在新项目中,30%投资聚焦在现有优秀项目的追投。”

文章来源:亿欧网