ZWC's Inaugural Cross Border Summit Brings Together Tencent's HR Mastermind & Sea Group CEO Forrest Li
December 25, 2019

The Southeast Asian market keeps growing at an “amazing” pace. With the continuous implementation of the “Belt and Road” Initiative, Chinese companies see greater profit margins and receives stronger policy support in the Southeast Asian market.

On the other side, Southeast Asia is likely to embrace technologies faster than their Western counterparts, thanks to the progress of local governments and relatively affordable and reliable Internet connections, as well as a large young population.

Emerging entrepreneurial and investment opportunities in Asia are tilting towards Southeast Asia.

ZWC Partners held its China & Southeast Asia Innovation and Growth Summit in Singapore on December 16.

Its Founding and Managing Partner, Patrick Cheung, invited Forrest Li, Founder and CEO of Sea Group, the largest Internet company in Southeast Asia, and Professor Arthur Yeung, Senior Management Advisor to Tencent Group and co-author of Reinventing the Organization, to share in a panel their management and innovation experience learned during the innovation and growth of companies.

From left to right: Joji Philip, Forrest Li, Arthur Yeung, Patrick Cheung
Photo CreditsZWC Partners

*How much of the China playbook can be replicated in markets like Southeast Asia and India? what’s the role of a cross-border investor in helping companies when talking about value-add service?

*Patrick Cheung:

“Do not use the 100% Chinese model to enter the Southeast Asian market.” Are many outstanding entrepreneurs from China really determined to become locals? I found this to be a big weakness because they were not 100% integrated into the local market. Second, it is important to understand the local market, consumer behavior and local culture. When you want to enter the Southeast Asian market, you should first measure how to use the capabilities you have developed in China and how to use the expertise you have learned in China, and then work with local teams to make yourself more local. The strength of Chinese companies lies in their experience. They know how to develop business models and how to expand markets.

With an influx of capital to the SEA markets from China, ZWC has been differentiating itself from other funds in providing 360 value adds to our portfolios. Close to market approach to provide on the ground value-add services to portfolios.Our value adds are frequently recognized by our portfolios.

We have set up local team in both Singapore and Jakarta, enabling direct access to market and dynamic interactions with portfolios.

Prof. Arthur Yeung’s HR advisory also value add our portfolios in all spectrum of organization management including organization structure, talent recruitment and training, etc. Our Co-founding shareholder, Jason Jiang, Chairman and CEO of Focus Media Group, as an expert in marketing and branding can advises on growth and brand strategies for our portfolios.

Ongoing expansion of our Venture Partners ecosystem to strengthen our strategic value adds to portfolio. We proactively invite domain experts to join us annually. For example, we have on board this year Eric Ye, ex-CTO and Chief Scientist of Ctrip International, pivotal to growing Ctrip OTA marketplace to be the largest one in Asia.Internally, we also set up a role to help our portfolio companies recruit top talents, and assist in recruitment strategy.

众为资本举办首届中国及东南亚创新成长峰会,腾讯高级管理顾问兼青腾大学教务长杨国安教授及Sea集团CEO李小冬受邀出席
25 Dec 2019

东南亚市场正在以惊人的速度成长。随着一带一路战略的不断落实,中国企业在东南亚市场看到了更大的利润空间,并且得到了更有力的政策支持。

另一方面,由于各政府越来越开明,有能力支持更为可靠的互联网基础设施建设,并且拥有大量的年轻人口,东南亚或许比西方国家更能快速的接受新的技术。

如今,亚洲新兴的创业和投资机会正逐渐向东南亚地区倾斜。

1216日,众为资本在新加坡举行了《中国与东南亚创新成长峰会》。众为资本创始管理合伙人张永汉(Patrick Cheung邀请到东南亚最大的互联网公司Sea 集团创始人兼CEO李小冬(Forrest Li腾讯集团的高级管理顾问、青腾大学教务长、《组织革新》(Reinventing the Organization)一书的合著者杨国安教授(Prof. Arthur Yeung,一同分享了他们在企业创新和发展过程中所获得的管理及创新经验。

从左至右依次是:Joji Philip、李小冬、杨国安教授、张永汉
图片来源:众为资本

*有多少中国的模式可以在东南亚或印度市场复制?增值服务方面,跨境投资者能在哪些方面帮到创业者?

*张永汉:

不要用100%的中国模式进入东南亚市场,很多来自中国的优秀企业家,真的有决心成为当地人吗?我发现这是一个很大的弱点,因为他们并没有100%的融入当地市场。其次,了解当地市场、消费者行为和本土文化是相当重要的。当你想要进入东南亚市场时应该先衡量该如何利用在中国锻炼出的能力,以及如何利用在中国所总结出的专业知识,然后与当地团队合作,让自己更加本土化。中国公司的优势在于他们的经验,他们知道如何发展商业模式,如何扩张市场。

我们在为投资组合提供360度增值服务方面具有高度的市场差异化。我们坚持以更为接近市场的方式为投资组合提供增值服务。长久以来,我们提供的增值服务和陪伴得到了被投企业的高度认可。

为此,我们在新加坡和印尼雅加达都搭建了基金的本土团队,这样就能最直观的了解到市场动态,并和我们投资的公司进行实时互动。

杨国安教授为我们投资的企业在组织架构、人才招聘和培训等组织管理的各个范畴内增添了很大的价值。众为联合创始股东,分众传媒集团创始人、董事长兼CEO江南春先生,作为营销和品牌领域的专家,可以为我们投资的企业提供公司发展和品牌战略方面的建议。

此外,我们还在不停的扩大着我们的投资合伙人生态系统,以加强我们给投资组合的战略价值。我们每年都会邀请各领域专家加入我们,分享经验并给予指导。今年携程前CTO、首席科学家叶亚明(Eric Ye)也加入了我们的投资合伙人社群,他对携程成为亚洲最大的在线旅行交易平台至关重要。还有,在内部我们设立了一个角色来帮助我们投资的公司招聘顶尖人才,并协助他们制定招聘策略。